66.7 F
Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Sean Parks named Chairman of Lake County Board of County Commissioners

Sean Parks

Sean Parks was unanimously chosen as the Lake County Board of County Commissioners chairman during Tuesday’s board meeting.

Parks, who represents District 2, is serving his third term after first being elected to the Commission in 2010. He said he strongly believes in exercising servant leadership and in actively listening to residents’ concerns.

An ardent leader and supporter of economic development and business-friendly initiatives, Parks’ interest in serving the citizens of Lake County also focuses on public safety, parks and recreation and water resources. He championed the cause to bring competitive rowing to Lake County and is passionate about the Wellness Way Plan for bringing high-wage jobs to the county while protecting quality of life.

Kirby Smith

District 3 Commissioner Kirby Smith was selected as vice chair. Smith is a lifelong resident of Lake County, born in Eustis and currently living in Tavares. He graduated from Tavares High School in 1986 and later earned his bachelor’s degree in business management. He has dedicated his life to serving his community as a firefighter/EMT and youth baseball coach, as well as serving on the Tavares City Council from 2009 to 2019 as mayor, vice mayor and councilmember.

Most Popular

More articles

Woman arrested in Circle K parking lot for stealing car

A 20-year-old Eustis woman who’s been in and out of jail multiple times over the last two years was charged Tuesday with grand theft auto after she admitted to taking a vehicle and not returning to the owner.

Suspected Walmart thief jailed on drug charges after traffic stop

A Leesburg woman jailed in March for stealing from Walmart was arrested on drug charges Monday night after the car she was riding in was stopped for not having its headlights on.

Follow Us